smart SVG logo

smart #1 Wins Top Design Awards

11th May 2023

By Chris Russon

smart #1 Side

The new smart #1 has been awarded two leading design prizes by international expert juries.

In addition to the Red Dot Award for product design, the premium all-electric compact SUV won the iF Design Award, known for honouring outstanding design and social engagement, in the Product – Automobiles/Vehicles category.

The company says that in the smart #1 development phase, the Mercedes-Benz global design team and the smart research and development team worked together closely to explore the balance between interior and exterior design and the overall performance of the smart #1.

The smart #1 – which is priced from £35,950 - is compact on the outside, spacious on the inside and has a battery range of up to 275 miles.

“To receive the Red Dot Award and the iF Design Award is a wonderful recognition of the work we invested in the development of the smart #1 design concept,” said Xuan-Zheng Goh, head of product management at smart Europe. “It shows that we have created a truly unique vehicle with convincing contrasts. Elements like the frameless doors and the floating halo roof add a premium factor to a seamless high-tech sculpture.”

“Our further developed design philosophy underlines the premium aspect of smart. We are very proud that our #1 has now received two of the world's most recognised design awards – The Red Dot Award in the Product Design category and the IF Design Award in the Product – Automobiles/Vehicles category,” added Kai Sieber, head of design smart Mercedes-Benz AG.

For more than 60 years, the Red Dot Award has been considered one of the largest design competitions for innovative design on a global scale.

In 2023, the jury evaluated products from 60 countries as part of their individual examination and awarded coveted prizes in categories such as Product Design.

The iF Design Award is also one of the most renowned design prizes in the world. This year, there were almost 11,000 entries from 56 countries. The prizes are awarded by international design experts.

Prices correct as of 09/05/2023 and are subject to change.